Roasted Chicken n Apples

It is a beautiful Easter Sunday afternoon and I decided to get my dinner out of the way early so that the stove would be off by the time it got really warm outside. I am not ready to cut my air on…call me cheap, call me crazy. But I am enjoying actually having a spring season and having a break with my electric bill! But it does get a little warm when the stove is on.

DSC05976

DSC06001

It has been quite some time since I have been at it with the blogging…since 2012 to be exact. Back then I was blogging about delectable desserts and some pretty darn good food. But it was not healthy. I have now changed my lifestyle and my eating habits, even more so after learning I had Stage 3 Chronic Lyme Disease. I am now using food to help heal my body as well as just treating my body better overall. We all want that, right?

DSC06024

I have a book coming out in May…yay!!! So with that, I figured I better get back to blogging and sharing recipes. Healthy Bites for the Mind, Body and Soul is my first cookbook that is a compilation of some of my favorite recipes turned healthier. And some of the other recipes are dishes I use to gently detox the body. I hope this blog inspires you to eat better and to understand that healthy eating can taste good as well as be good for you.

You will find that with all of the healthy things I talk about, I LOVE BUTTER about as much as Paula Deen. So feel free to substitute olive oil, ghee or coconut oil (in some instances) if you do not share my love for butter or need to watch your cholesterol.

I love a succulent roasted chicken but it has to have some crispy skin. That can be achieved by roasting it at 425 as opposed to baking it at 350. So old school – smile! Because of my diet, chicken and fish are on the menu at least once a week. But eating the same thing over and over gets boring. So roast that chicken with grapes, apples, lemons or oranges; or add sweet potatoes, Brussels sprouts…anything to make it stand out!

DSC06132

This meal may sound complex but is really fairly simple to prepare. Stuff that chicken cavity with some fresh herbs, onion and garlic. And get some butter under that chicken skin…DIVINE!

Roasted Chicken and Apples

Ingredients:

1/2 stick butter, softened
1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, chopped
1 tablespoon sage
3 garlic cloves, one of them minced
1 organic chicken, about 4-5 lb.
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
1 small yellow onion, halved
1 lemon, halved
3 large apples, halved
2 tablespoons olive oil

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a small bowl, combine the softened butter, the herbs and the minced garlic and set aside.

Remove the chicken giblets. Rinse the chicken inside and out and pat dry with paper towels. Generously season the chicken inside and out with salt and pepper and place the remaining garlic cloves, the lemon and the onion halves inside the chicken cavity. Truss the chicken with kitchen twine.

Slip your fingers underneath the chicken skin and loosen it carefully. Using your fingers, rub the compound butter under the skin, distributing it as evenly as possible.

Place the chicken, breast side up, in a roasting pan and place it in the oven (About thirty minutes before the chicken is done, cut the apples in half and add them to the roasting pan). Roast the chicken for 15-20 minutes per pound, 1.5-2 hours, until the skin is well browned and an instant-read thermometer inserted into the thickest part of the thigh, registers 170°F.

Transfer the chicken to a carving board, cover loosely with aluminum foil and let rest for 10 minutes. Carve the chicken and serve.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Natalie Mcpherson says:

    It looks delectable! Can’t wait to try some recipes from your book.

    1. Thank you Natalie! I appreciate you!!!

Leave a Reply

