Grapefruit & Thyme Ice Cream

DSC07535 blog

DSC07482 blog

I love ice cream! I was distressed when I had to cut dairy out of my diet because that was one of the things I would sorely miss. But thank God for coconut milk and coconut cream…two things I am NEVER without in my kitchen.

I had congestion, allergy and sinus issues year-round and later learned that one of the culprits was cow’s milk. Casein is a protein found in cow’s milk and is often an issue for many. I eventually began using coconut milk, almond milk and occasionally would make my own rice milk at home. But I still had this longing for ice cream. When I began making ice cream initially, I did not like it because it was too much like ice milk. It had no real flavor and was not thick and creamy, primarily because it was missing fat. Adding full fat coconut milk (in the can) to the base or using eggs to make a custard, gave it what was needed to taste pretty much like ice cream I enjoyed from my days of eating whatever I wanted.

So most of my ice cream recipes will have coconut milk in them as well as some type of starch. That also helps make sugar and dairy free ice cream creamier.

The one negative about ice cream without sugar is that it hardens and turns into a block once frozen. So you will need to let it sit on the countertop for a spell before consuming it, so that it can soften. If you are not on a strict clean eating diet, you can add a tablespoon of gluten free vodka to your ice cream and that will keep it from freezing so hard as well.

DSC07503 blog

Grapefruit + Thyme Ice Cream

1 can full fat coconut milk
1 can coconut cream
3 droppers of liquid stevia
½ cup freshly strained grapefruit juice
2-3 sprigs of thyme
2 tablespoons tapioca starch

Combine the coconut milk, coconut cream, liquid stevia, grapefruit juice and thyme in a sauce pan. Bring the ingredients to a low simmer, stirring constantly, for 5 minutes. Remove the thyme and discard. Add the tapioca starch to the sauce pan and stir until combined. Remove from heat and cool. Place ice cream base in a container and chill in the refrigerator overnight or at minimum, for 4 hours.

Once the mixture is completely chilled, add ingredients to an ice cream maker and churn for approximately 25 minutes. If you like soft serve, you may serve immediately. If not, place the churned ice cream into the freezer until firm. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

