Roasted Butternut Squash

IMG_0653

I had a promo photo shoot this weekend with one of my favorite artists to capture some pictures for my cookbook which launched this past week. I wanted to do some shots with a basket of produce and purchased some items from the farmer’s market for my props. Now you know how quickly produce goes bad so I am challenged with what to do this week with all this food.

One of the goodies from the market was butternut squash. I love the nuttiness of butternut squash. In the fall, I enjoying using it to make butternut squash soup and stuffed butternut squash. But today, I wanted something simple, so roasted butternut squash it was. I had this alongside a turkey burger but this would also be good in a hash or with a good steak, grass fed of course.

I know you are tired of me saying how easy these recipes are but they really are. And they are so daggone good. It is a combination of sweet and savory deliciousness.

IMG_0668

Roasted Butternut Squash

3 cups butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cut into cubes
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon ginger powder
¾ teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 sprig of rosemary

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Toss the butternut squash with the olive oil, ginger, salt, nutmeg, and cumin. Finely chop the rosemary and combine.

Spread on a large rimmed baking sheet. Arrange the cubes on the baking sheet so they are not touching. Roast, stirring once, until the squash is tender and starting to brown, approximately 30-40 minutes, depending on your oven.

 

1

Leave a Reply

