Kale Salad

kale salad blog

I have made this kale salad for so many of my friends who gave me the side eye like, “That is looking like rabbit food. We’re good.” But when they finished, they were trying to get me to give them the ingredients so they could head to the grocery store to recreate the dish.

Today is Memorial Day and a lot of people are getting ready to cookout with friends and family. I planned a quiet evening at home and intended to grill myself until I discovered a 6 ft snake sunbathing on the back porch like he was paying the mortgage! So, I think I am going to stick to making my food indoors on the cast iron griddle. That is really working for me right now.

Kale is one of my favorite greens. I mostly consume curly kale and lacinato kale, which is more bitter. Kale is known as a superfood and is extremely beneficial for your health. This salad is simple to make and is bright and tasty, with a little crunch from the almonds. Good for the body and good for the palate.

Kale Salad

1 bunch curly kale, ribs removed
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup almond slivers
1 large red apple, chopped
1/2 cup cucumber slices
1/4 cup red onion, chopped
1 small garlic clove, minced
2 tablespoons turkey bacon bits
1/4 cup unsweetened cranberries, optional
Goat cheese crumbles, optional

Chop kale into small pieces. Massage kale leaves in Every Day Salad dressing until withered. Do not skip this step or the leaves will be tough. Let stand for 10 minutes.

Add salt and pepper, to taste. Combine remaining ingredients and toss until coated. Serve.

Every day Salad Dressing

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 garlic clove
1 teaspoon stevia (or 2 teaspoons
raw honey)
1 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest, optional

Add all ingredients to a mason jar, blender or food processor. Process until smooth. Serve over salad.

Leave a Reply

