Shredded Crockpot Chicken

crockpot chicken sandwich blog

One of my goals when I started eating healthy in 2010 was to attempt to recreate most of my favorite dishes in a healthier manner. I used to make homemade barbecue sauce with beer or brown sugar and it was so freakin’ good. But I never thought to try it with stevia. Every now and again I want something that does not really fit the clean eating bill but then I start thinking of how I can make it work…and voila!!! I will admit that this sauce may get an update or two before I am completely jumping for joy with it; but it worked to satisfy my barbecue chicken craving.

This is such a quick and easy meal. Once you prepare the sauce, you simply pour it over your chicken breasts and cook in the crockpot. Not only do you end up with the house smelling fragrant but dinner is no fuss!

homemade bbq sauce blog

BBQ Sauce
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 cup sweet yellow onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 teaspoon dry mustard powder
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chipotle chili powder
1 tablespoon chili powder
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon stevia in the raw (or honey, to taste)
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
Dash of cinnamon
1 can tomato sauce, organic
1 – 1 1/2 cups chicken stock, organic
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

Melt butter in small stockpot and add onion. Saute until translucent, approximately 3-5 minutes on medium heat. Add remaining ingredients, cover, and simmer for 30-45 minutes.

Crockpot BBQ Chicken
3-4 organic chicken breasts
Salt and pepper, to taste
1 – 1 1/2 cups barbecue sauce

Rinse chicken breasts and arrange in crockpot. Season both sides with salt and pepper. Cover with barbecue sauce. Cover. Cook in crockpot for 6 hours. Once done, use fork to pull chicken apart. Serve in tortillas, on a bun, in a lettuce wrap, burrito bowl…so many options!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Appreciating the hard work you put into your site and detailed
    information you provide. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed
    information. Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to
    my Google account.

    1. Thank you so much Anteny! I so appreciate your kind words. That is also inspiration for me to get back to blogging! Managing so many different sites gets to be a little much but I need to get back in the swing of things. Thank you so much. I hope you have a beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

